Blue Penny Mauritius

Le timbre Blue Penny

Le Blue Penny est un timbre bleu foncé d’une valeur de 1 penny et le Red Penny est un timbre rouge orangé valant 2 pence. Ce sont les premiers timbres émis pour le service postal de l’île Maurice, alors colonie britannique. Ils ont été émis en 1847, et donc étaient les premiers timbres britanniques à être émis hors de l’Angleterre. Ce sont des timbres rares et très recherchés dans le monde.

Le 20 Septembre 1847, le graveur Joseph Osmond Barnard, un anglais qui avait émigré à Maurice en 1838, fut choisi pour créer ces timbres. Il prépare un projet et reçoit une première commande pour 500 exemplaires de chacun des deux timbres.

Le timbre représente la reine Victoria est représenté de profil. Elle est entourée de plusieurs mentions : « POST OFFICE – POSTAGE – MAURITIUS » : une erreur de mot car il aurait fallu écrire ‘Post paid’, au lieu de ‘Post office’.

Blue et Red Penny, Mauritius

Blue et Red Penny, Mauritius

Le stock de « Post Office » qui se composait donc de mille unités, fut écoulé rapidement. En 1853, le timbre est réémis avec une nouvelle mention « POST PAID ». Ceci explique la rareté des timbres Blue Penny et Red penny « post office » ! Des exemplaires du Blue Penny sont exposé au musée du même nom, à Port Louis.

Email this to someoneShare on FacebookTweet about this on TwitterShare on Google+Pin on PinterestShare on Tumblr

Blue Penny Mauritius

The Blue Penny Stamp

The Blue Penny is a dark blue stamp worth 1 penny and Red Penny is an orange-red stamp worth 2 pence. These are the first stamps issued for the postal service of Mauritius, then a British colony island. They were issued in 1847, and thus were the first British stamps to be issued outside of England. These are rare and highly sought after stamps in the world.

On september 20th, 1847, the engraver Joseph Osmond Barnard, an Englishman who had emigrated to Mauritius in 1838, was chosen to create these stamps. He is preparing a project and receives first order for 500 copies of each stamp.

Blue et Red Penny, Mauritius

Blue et Red Penny, Mauritius

The stamp depicts Queen Victoria is shown in profile. It is surrounded by several mentions: “POST OFFICE – POSTAGE – MAURITIUS”: a word error because he should have written ‘post paid’, instead of ‘Post Office’.

The stock of “Post Office” which thus consisted of one thousand units, was passed quickly. In 1853, the stamp is reissued with a new word “POST PAID”. This explains the rarity of stamps Penny Blue and Red penny “post office”! Copies of Blue Penny are exhibited in the museum of the same name, in Port Louis.

Email this to someoneShare on FacebookTweet about this on TwitterShare on Google+Pin on PinterestShare on Tumblr